Made to stick 4: within 1 minute Apple’s wow strategy is gone

Posted on Updated on

Every week I’ll post an easy to use and “no budget” tip to improve business. My challenge is to get my message clear in 30 seconds reading time. Please let me know if I succeeded in this!

Wow factor for customers
Wow factor

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Over the last 10 years, I’ve been an enthusiastic user of Apple products. Their ecosystem offers me easy to use devices and applications, which saves me time and money.

I read a lot about Apple to learn about their strategy and execution of their business. Especially the “wow” factor is something which I really like. Every customer is supposed to have a feeling of “wow” when experiencing Apple.

But wow can also be a negative wow! And I am sure that Apple knows this, but they doesn’t seem to take care of.

This week I had a negative wow experience. After messages on my iPhone that “a cable isn’t supported”, my iPhone decided that it won’t charge anymore!

Unfortunately I discovered this when my battery was 20% charged and I had immediately to decide what to do. My choice was backing up and after backing up, 8% was left.

Next day I went to Singtel, which is the reseller of my iPhone. They couldn’t help me and sent the iPhone to Apple for research.

As I need a phone, I asked for a spare one, which they don’t offer. The option they gave, was to deposit S$ 831 for a new iPhone. This deposit is required to ensure that if Apple decides that my iPhone cannot repaired anymore, they get paid for this new iPhone.

But, I already paid for an iPhone as this is included in my subscription! And as Apple will not return my old iPhone, there is a chance that I have to pay twice for 1 iPhone. WOW!

Using Apple’s ecosystem has its’ advantages. But with my latest experience, I have a very bad feeling as you are locked in.

Summary: I fully understand that they want to get paid for a device, but it’s not acceptable that my problem (which turned out to be a general problem*) is kept secret by Apple. Give me any background of the problem and ensure that I leave the shop with a positive wow effect. Even if it’s a reseller. Apple should take more care about resellers as they take a major part in negative (shared!) reviews.

Advice: Apple should take care about the resellers’ customers and oblige resellers to use a feedback system. Only then they can control the wow effect of every customer and turn negative experience into a positive experience. Wow will be wow again as it’s supposed to be!

 

*I joined an Apple forum discussion regarding this problem and noticed that this is a general problem. (https://discussions.apple.com/message/25490647?ac_cid=tw123456#25490647) These are the first reactions on my post:

Apple Forum Discussion
Apple forum discussion
Leave a Reply

